HALLUX VALGUS

BUNIONS: WHAT ARE THEY AND WHAT CAUSES THEM?

Hallux valgus, a condition better known as a “bunion,” is the most common reason for seeing a foot surgeon. It involves a progressive and uncomfortable deformity of the joint at the base of the big toe. It is estimated that the condition affects 10% of the population and the majority of those affected are women typically 40 years of age or older.

While genes are often blamed for bunions, the main risk factors are the presence of certain chronic conditions and wearing shoes that compress the foot.

SYMPTOMS

Hallux valgus causes an abnormal deviation of the big toe toward the second toe. The deformity causes a bony bump to form that can be extremely painful. It can affect your ability to walk and wear shoes. In some cases, rubbing on the inside of the shoe can lead to subcutaneous inflammation, causing redness and sensitivity in the area. The diagnosis can usually be confirmed through a clinical exam. X-rays are often prescribed to evaluate the severity of the bunion and determine the best course of treatment.

Hallus valgus – Most frequently asked questions

TREATING HALLUX VALGUS

In the vast majority of cases, surgical correction of a bunion involves an osteotomy, where the surgeon cuts and realigns the affected bone. The exact surgical technique used is determined by the severity and angle of the deformity, as well as the patient’s specific anatomy. Selecting the right technique requires in-depth knowledge of the biomechanics of the foot.

Long dreaded for its long and painful recovery period, bunion correction surgery has advanced by leaps and bounds in recent years. Dr. Hobeychi is known for his thorough approach and extensive expertise in the field. He uses minimally invasive techniques that allow patients to get back on their feet the same day—without pain, casts, or crutches. The procedure is performed under local anesthesia with sedation, and both feet can be operated on at the same time.

MAKE AN APPOINTMENT


questions?
Don’t hesitate to get in touch

DÉFINITION ET CAUSES

Le Hallux Valgus, mieux connu sous le nom « oignon », est le motif de consultation le plus fréquent en chirurgie du pied. La condition se caractérise par une déformation évolutive et inconfortable de la base du gros orteil. On estime que 10% de la population en est atteinte. Les sujets, en majorité des femmes, sont typiquement âgés de 40 ans et plus.

Bien que l’hérédité soit bien souvent pointée du doigt, les principaux facteurs prédisposants sont la présence de maladies chroniques et le port de chaussures comprimant le pied.

SYMPTÔMES

L’Hallux valgus se manifeste par une déviation anormale du gros orteil vers le deuxième orteil. Cette déformation conduit à l’apparition d’une saillie osseuse latérale pouvant causer de vives douleurs et entraver la marche ou le chaussage. Dans certains cas, le conflit avec le soulier peut occasionner une inflammation sous-cutanée s’observant par des rougeurs et une sensibilité locale. L’examen clinique permet habituellement de conclure au diagnostic. Une lecture radiographique est prescrite pour évaluer la sévérité de l’atteinte et déterminer la procédure indiquée pour le traitement.

TRAITEMENTS

Dans la grande majorité des cas, la correction chirurgicale de l’oignon nécessite une ostéotomie, c’est-à-dire le sectionnement puis le réalignement de l’os en cause. Le choix d’une technique opératoire précise est dicté par l’ampleur et l’angle de la déformation, ainsi que par l’anatomie particulière du patient. Cette étape requiert une connaissance approfondie de la biomécanique du pied.

Longtemps redoutée en raison de sa lente et douloureuse convalescence, la chirurgie de correction de l’oignon a énormément progressé au cours des dernières années. Le Dr Hobeychi est reconnu pour sa grande expertise et son approche consciencieuse. Il privilégie les méthodes les moins invasives permettant un retour sur pied la même journée, sans douleurs, sans plâtre ni béquilles. L’intervention se fait sous anesthésie locale avec sédation et les deux pieds peuvent être opérés lors de la même séance.

PRISE DE RENDEZ-VOUS

questions?
Faites-nous parvenir vos questions ou vos préoccupations